Forty Acres Scholars Program Class of 2027 Finalists

Posted February 16, 2023


The Forty Acres Scholars Program is proud to announce the 64 Finalists for the Class of 2027. Finalists were selected from 147 semifinalists who were chosen to advance to a video interview.

This year’s finalists come from seven U.S. states and have been admitted to 11 different schools and colleges across the university. Many of them participate in nationally recognized organizations and competitions such as DECA and UIL events. Many are also authors, athletes, team captains, researchers, coders, and student council executives. Some are founders of nonprofits, school organizations, and business owners. Their time has been spent participating in countless hours of community service, leading clubs and organizations in their schools, and interning across the nation. 

From March 2–4, 2023, these exceptional high school students will join us on campus to participate in Finalist Weekend. Activities will include visits to their admitted colleges, a mock class with a UT professor, campus and college tours, panels with current Forty Acres Scholars, optional daily activities, and an individual interview.   

The Forty Acres Scholars Program inspires and nurtures visionary leaders and helps them use their talents to benefit society. Our scholars demonstrate intellectual curiosity and a track record of outstanding academic success. Most importantly, they have passion and a desire to live out the core values of The University of Texas at Austin. The three tenets of the program are community, connection, and discovery. The program is a transformational adventure that helps individuals reach their full potential, and, alongside academic achievement, focuses on personal development, relationship building, and gaining perspective. As the only program of its kind administered by an alumni association, Forty Acres Scholars develop a unique relationship with their alma mater and graduate with an extraordinary network of Longhorns standing behind them.  

Scholarship funding provides for tuition, a living stipend, a book stipend, an enrichment stipend, and program activities.  

Meet the finalists:

Amoli Agarwal 

Westwood High School 
Austin, Texas 



Jasmine Benau

Mayde Creek High School 
Houston, Texas 



Jazlynna Bergeron 

Gainesville High School 
Valley View, Texas 



John Thomas Borowitz 

Texas High School 
Texarkana, Texas 



Mateo Casanova 

Woodlands High School 
Spring, Texas 



Ana Cecilia Catillo Galindo 

Tomball High School 
Tomball, Texas 



Rohan Chaudhry 

Half Hollow Hills High School West 
Dix Hills, New York 



Iris Cheng 

Seven Lakes High School 
Katy, Texas 



Maria Pamela Chow Lomeli 

Tomball High School 
Spring, Texas 



Layla Crear 

High School for the Performing and Visual Arts 
Houston, Texas 



Matthew Creixell 

Cistercian Preparatory School 
Dallas, Texas 



Kiera Dixon 

Round Rock Christian Academy 
Round Rock, Texas 



Ella Folh 

George Ranch High School 
Sugar Land, Texas 



Sofia Furbeck 

Keller High School 
Keller, Texas 



Marco Gonzales 

Dickinson High School 
Dickinson, Texas 



Nidhi Gosalia 

Livingston High School 
Livingston, New Jersey 



Macy Gregory  

Memorial Senior High School 
Houston, Texas 



Sonika Harish 

Lewisville High School 
Lewisville, Texas 



Kelsey Head 

Billy C Ryan High School 
Denton, Texas 



Jenna Hinz 

Clear Lake High School 
Houston, Texas 



Benjamin Howell 

South Cobb High School 
Mableton, Georgia 



Olivia Jacoby 

Carroll Senior High School 
Southlake, Texas 



Lavik Jain 

Centennial High School 
Frisco, Texas 



Jaylen Jamaal Waithe 

Battlefield High School 
Gainesville, Virginia 



Ellie Jiang 

Arnold O Beckman High School 
Irvine, California 



Karla Jimenez 

Los Fresnos High School 
Brownsville, Texas 


Kripa Kannan 

Plano East Senior High School 
Murphy, Texas 



Hadia Khatri 

Plano West Senior High School 
Plano, Texas 



Akaash Kolluri

William P Clements High School 
Sugar Land, Texas



Erick Lara Barrientos

Lockhart High School 
Dale, Texas



Kyler Larsen

A&M Consolidated High School 
College Station, Texas



Jared Levy

Abraham Joshua Heschel School 
New York, New York



Estefania Lopez-Salas 

Episcopal High School 
Houston, Texas 



Tina Luo 

Flower Mound High School 
Flower Mound, Texas 



Marco Ma 

William P Clements High School 
Sugar Land, Texas 



Rohan Mahendru 

Mirabeau B Lamar Senior High School 
Houston, Texas 



Palmer Mann 

Trinity School of Texas 
Longview, Texas 



Giancarlo Massimo 

Seven Lakes High School 
Katy, Texas 



Kennon McNew 

Robinson High School 
Robinson, Texas 




Eleanor McWilliams 

Stratford High School 
Houston, Texas 



Alyssia Menezes 

Lincoln High School 
Portland, Oregon 



Carolina Meza 

Veterans Memorial High School 
Brownsville, Texas 



Camila Moreno Juarez 

McAllen Memorial High School 
Hidalgo, Texas 



Grace Ogden 

Saint Mary's Hall 
San Antonio, Texas 



Jesutofunmi Oluwaleke 

Alief Taylor High School 
Richmond, Texas 



David Onadeko 

Garland High School 
Garland, Texas 



Reed Paltrow 

Paul D Schreiber Senior High School 
Sands Point, New York 



Akash Pradeep 

Liberty High School 
Plano, Texas 



Bailey Raymond 

Saint Agnes Academy 
Bellaire, Texas 



Julia Reyes 

Douglas MacArthur High School 
San Antonio, Texas 



Daniela Rincon Colon 

Seven Lakes High School 
Katy, Texas 



Georgia Rocap 

Lubbock High School 
Lubbock, Texas 



Alexis Rollings 

Fort Worth Country Day School 
Fort Worth, Texas 



Akshaya Sakala 

Camas High School 
Camas, Washington 



Lydia Taylor 

Village Tech School 
Cedar Hill, Texas 



Abigail Tomaski 

Memorial Senior High School 
Houston, Texas



Braiden Touchette 

Travis-Early College High School 
San Antonio, Texas 



Laylah Votion 

Young Women’s Leadership Academy 
San Antonio, Texas 



Peyton Wartell 

Parish Episcopal School 
Dallas, Texas 



Valerie Xu 

Greenhill School 
Dallas, Texas 



Andres Yengle 

The Post Oak School 
Houston, Texas 



Zoe Yu 

The Woodlands College Park High School 
Conroe, Texas 



David Zaha 

School of Science and Engineering at
Yvonne A Ewell Townview Magnet Center 
Dallas, Texas 



Katherine Zhang 

Kinkaid School 
Houston, Texas