Jean Holloway Award

Jean Holloway Award

Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching was created in 1970 with an endowment from past Texas Exes president Sterling Holloway and his wife, Jean. It has been supplemented over the years by gifts from Jean’s daughter and her grandchildren. Now the award is presented annually to a teacher in the College of Liberal Arts or Natural Sciences.

Recipients must demonstrate a warm spirit, a concern for society and the individual, and the ability to impart knowledge while challenging students to independent inquiry and creative thought. He or she must also show a respect for and understanding of the permanent values of our culture.

The award amounts to more than $4,500 annually, and the nomination and selection process is done solely by students.

• Nominate someone for the Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching!

2017 Recipient


Caroline Faria, Geography 

Since she first arrived on campus in 2014, Dr. Caroline Faria has shown her students the world through a lens completely different from their own. As a feminist political and cultural geographer, Dr. Faria’s research focuses on issues of gender, race, and nationalism, specifically related to the US-based South Sudanese diaspora. She is currently working on a new project that follows the commodity chain of synthetic and human hair production, distribution, and consumption in East Africa. 

Dr. Faria’s students find her lessons fascinating and are motivated by her commitment to helping them understand the world better. One student said, “Professor Faria constantly makes me think about the world in a new way.” Another student remarked, “Dr. Faria has challenged me to do things that I did not know I was capable of. She exemplifies compassion and warmth when it comes to her students and she has taken me under her wing and taught me invaluable skills.”


Past Recipients

2016- Dr. Evan Carton, English

2015- Dr. Leonard Moore, History

2014- Dr. Karen Grumberg, Middle Eastern Studies

2013- Dr. Calvin Lin, Computer Science

2012- Dr. David F. Prindle, Government

2011- Dr. Sheldon Ekland-Olson, Sociology

2010- Dr. John Wallingford, Biology

2009- Dr. Alan K. Cline, Computer Sciences

2008- Dr. Austin M. Gleeson, Physics

2007- Dr. Brian King, Geography & Environment

2006- Dr. Arturo De Lozanne, Biology

2005- Dr. Alan E. Kessler, Government

2004- Dr. Thomas G. Palaima, Classics

2003- Dr. Mark R.V. Southern, Germanic Studies

2002- Dr. Howard Miller, History

2001- Dr. Brent L. Iverson, Chemistry

2000- Dr. Toyin Falola, History

1999- Dr. Eric Anslyn, Chemistry

1998- Dr. John White, Chemistry

1997- Dr. Henry Dietz, Government

1996- Dr. Raymond Davis, Chemistry

1995- Dr. Michael Starbird, Mathematics

1994- Dr. Mia Carter, English

1993- Dr. David A. Laude, Chemistry

1992- Dr. Melvin E. L. Oakes, Physics

1991- Dr. George Forgie, History

1990- Dr. Jerome Bump, English

1989- Dr. Alan Campion, Chemistry

1988- Dr. George Wright, History

1987- Dr. Mary Baker, French

1986- Dr. Charles Holahan, Psychology

1985- Dr. David Francis, Classics

1984- Dr. Norman Farmer, English

1983- Dr. Betty Sue Flowers, English

1982- Dr. Patricia Kruppa, History

1981- Dr. John Zammito, History

1980- Dr. Katherine Davis, Mathematics

1979- Dr. Oliver Radkey, History

1978- Ms. Denise Schmandt-Besserat, Comparative Studies

1977- Dr. William Galston, Government

1976- Dr. James Vick, Mathematics

1975- Dr. John Trimble, English

1974- Dr. Vernon Briggs, Economics

1973- Dr. Charles Rossman, English

1972- Dr. Stephen Monti, Chemistry

1971- Dr. Richard Kraemer, Government

1970- Dr. Clifton Grubbs, Economics