Advising Hallway

The Texas Exes James W. Vick Award for Academic Advising recognizes individuals who improve students’ overall experience at The University of Texas at Austin through outstanding advising. Each year, five winners are awarded $500 and are recognized with an awards ceremony in April. The nomination and selection process is done solely by students.

2019 Recipients

Stephanie Cantu

Senior Student Program Coordinator, McCombs School of Business

Jeff Hallock

Senior Academic Advisor, Moody College of Communications

Jillian Kozlowski

Senior Academic Advisor,  Student Success Initiatives

Sarah McKay

Academic Advising Coordinator, Department of Geological Sciences

Karen Weems

Advising Coordinator, TIP Scholars, College of Natural Sciences

Past Recipients


Wendy Boggs

Jason Gentry

Alexis George

Lovelys Powell

Nikki Stinnette


Andreyez Alvarado

Jasmine-Rose Schmitt

Leticia Monsey

Megan Rovang

Holly Smith


Christine Anderson, School of Undergraduate Studies

Doug Haake, Moody College of Communication

Yma Revuelta, Cockrell School of Engineering

Alma Jackie Salcedo, College of Liberal Arts

Michael Schmidt, College of Liberal Arts


Julia Chinnock, School of Undergraduate Studies

Jonathan Pereira, Cockrell School of Engineering

Deborah Salzberg, Jackson School of Geosciences

Susan Somers, College of Liberal Arts

Mark-Anthony Zuniga, College of Fine Arts


Jay A. Brown, College of Liberal Arts

Megan Conner, College of Liberal Arts

Thomas H. Griffith, College of Liberal Arts

Kristen Kessel, School of Social Work

Sarah Kitten, Cockrell School of Engineering