Jean Holloway Award

The Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching was created in 1970 with an endowment from past Texas Exes president Sterling Holloway and his wife, Jean. It has been supplemented over the years by gifts from Jean’s daughter and her grandchildren. Now the award is presented annually to a teacher in the College of Liberal Arts or Natural Sciences.

Recipients must demonstrate a warm spirit, a concern for society and the individual, and the ability to impart knowledge while challenging students to independent inquiry and creative thought. They must also show a respect for and understanding of the permanent values of our culture.

The award amounts to more than $4,500 annually, and the nomination and selection process is done solely by students.

The 2020-21 nomination period is now closed. The winner of this year's Jean Holloway Award will be announced in the spring. For questions, please email Thomas Schiefer.

2020 Recipient

Dr. Stephanie L. Osbakken, Department of Sociology

Past Recipients

2019 - Dr. Ashley Farmer, African and African Diaspora Studies, & History

2019 - Dr. Nace L. Golding, Department of Neuroscience 

2018 - Dr. Eric Tang, African and African Diaspora Studies

2017 - Dr. Caroline Faria, Geography

2016- Dr. Evan Carton, English

2015- Dr. Leonard Moore, History

2014- Dr. Karen Grumberg, Middle Eastern Studies

2013- Dr. Calvin Lin, Computer Science

2012- Dr. David F. Prindle, Government

2011- Dr. Sheldon Ekland-Olson, Sociology

2010- Dr. John Wallingford, Biology

2009- Dr. Alan K. Cline, Computer Sciences

2008- Dr. Austin M. Gleeson, Physics

2007- Dr. Brian King, Geography & Environment

2006- Dr. Arturo De Lozanne, Biology

2005- Dr. Alan E. Kessler, Government

2004- Dr. Thomas G. Palaima, Classics

2003- Dr. Mark R.V. Southern, Germanic Studies

2002- Dr. Howard Miller, History

2001- Dr. Brent L. Iverson, Chemistry

2000- Dr. Toyin Falola, History

1999- Dr. Eric Anslyn, Chemistry

1998- Dr. John White, Chemistry

1997- Dr. Henry Dietz, Government

1996- Dr. Raymond Davis, Chemistry

1995- Dr. Michael Starbird, Mathematics

1994- Dr. Mia Carter, English

1993- Dr. David A. Laude, Chemistry

1992- Dr. Melvin E. L. Oakes, Physics

1991- Dr. George Forgie, History

1990- Dr. Jerome Bump, English

1989- Dr. Alan Campion, Chemistry

1988- Dr. George Wright, History

1987- Dr. Mary Baker, French

1986- Dr. Charles Holahan, Psychology

1985- Dr. David Francis, Classics

1984- Dr. Norman Farmer, English

1983- Dr. Betty Sue Flowers, English

1982- Dr. Patricia Kruppa, History

1981- Dr. John Zammito, History

1980- Dr. Katherine Davis, Mathematics

1979- Dr. Oliver Radkey, History

1978- Ms. Denise Schmandt-Besserat, Comparative Studies

1977- Dr. William Galston, Government

1976- Dr. James Vick, Mathematics

1975- Dr. John Trimble, English

1974- Dr. Vernon Briggs, Economics

1973- Dr. Charles Rossman, English

1972- Dr. Stephen Monti, Chemistry

1971- Dr. Richard Kraemer, Government

1970- Dr. Clifton Grubbs, Economics